About Philosophy Department

The department of Philosophy is one of those departments with which Cotton College came into being in 1901. Six departments initially offered the honours course in Cotton College and Philosophy was one of them. The founder teacher of this department was Babu Indubhushan Brahmachari, who was designated the Professor of Logic and Mathematics. The first batch of students enrolled in the Honours Course in Philosophy passed in 1916. In 1992 post graduate classes under Gauhati University (G.U) were started. Post graduate teaching in Cotton College under G.U continued till it was handed over to Cotton College State University. Through a government act Cotton College State University came into being in 2011.  Again the Govt. of Assam repelled the act 2011, and enacted 2017 June as Cotton University. The department of Philosophy, Cotton College started Ph.D Research activities in the year 2009 under the guidance of Dr. Jagadish Patgiri affiliated to G.U. The department of Philosophy Cotton College carried out Minor/Major Research project since 1997. The department of Philosophy Cotton University Ph. D and other Research activities started in 2017.