About the Department

In 1901, Babu Indubhusan Brahmachari initiated the formation of the Department of Philosophy in the erstwhile Cotton College. Since then, the department has been adorned by great teachers who contributed to the accomplishment of a large number of first class degree holders and have shaped some eminent scholars in the field. Initially, the department concentrated on undergraduate programmes, with the addition of the Master's programme in 1992 and the subsequent incorporation of the Ph.D programme in 2017. The department stands as one of the major platforms for understanding and research for the philosophy community of North-East India.